“Signs, signs, everywhere signs…” Part I

IMG_0347 (1)

I remember the day even though it was two decades ago. I was a pastor in a small East Texas town and a very pleasant family that had been visiting our church invited my wife and me to their home for snacks. My first thought was, “That’s nice.” Then, someone mentioned to me that this particular couple sold Amway. The warning meter went off inside my little brain (Been there, done that, got the t-shirt). So I very carefully called and mentioned that if the invite was about Amway they would be wasting their time, because I could not sell their product. I tried to explain that I didn’t want people to wonder when I showed up at their door if I had come with the Gospel or some SA-8. Thankfully, they understood, and, yes, they had invited us over with the plan of giving us the “Amway spiel.” (Good end of story: the husband was eventually converted and I had the joy of baptizing him.)

Bait and switch” is an often used tactic by some companies to sell their products. They promise one thing: “a nice visit with snacks,” and provide another: “a sales pitch about their products.” It can be the same way in the religious realm. I still remember the very slick brochure advertising a “prophecy conference” that I received in the mail when I was living in Shreveport. The Seventh Day Adventists were very careful to make sure that their name appeared nowhere on that brochure. One wouldn’t discover who was sponsoring the event until one’s arrival.

I am thankful that the sign outside our church building doesn’t lure people in under false pretenses. It is straight-forward about saying exactly who we are: Reformed Presbyterian Church. I would like to take my next three blog posts to go into to some detail about what our “sign” says about who we are. Each word speaks volumes about what one can expect to find at 4220 Crow Road, in Beaumont, Texas.

(Next: Part II, Church)

1 Comment

  1. Timothy said,

    July 20, 2017 at 5:45 PM

    Yes, it’s sad that so many in the body of Christ, if they truly are, have adopted the practices of the world.


Leave a Reply

