A Personal “This Day in History”

clifton-coffee

On February 6, 2005, I entered the doors of the Reformed Presbyterian Church in Beaumont, Texas for the first time. There were not as many chairs, nor as many people as we have now. At the time I wasn’t sure what was in store for my future, but on that Sunday we experienced reverent, God-centered worship, and heard the Gospel preached simply and directly from God’s Word. I never left.

In God’s providence early the next year I was called as the Associate Pastor and began a ministry that would last for over nine years. During that time I was able to observe people at their best and at their worst, but I have never regretted the decision to become a part of that congregation. I have always considered it a great privilege to preach and teach God’s Word, and to come alongside people to weep with them and rejoice with them as they lived out their lives as a part of the Body of Christ in a fallen world. When issues at home made it needful for me to retire earlier than I desired, RPC was (and still is) the place where I could go to worship, to hear God’s Word, and to be encouraged “to press toward the mark of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.”

I still don’t know what my future holds (no one really does) but I pray that this place will be my home until either Jesus returns or I become “a just man made perfect” as the writer of Hebrews says. RPC is not a perfect church, but I can think of no other place where I would rather be.

1 Comment

  1. Andrew Hurt said,

    February 10, 2017 at 3:25 AM

    That’s awesome! Happy anniversary!


Leave a Reply

