Tuesday (at least, late Monday) Hymns: “When All Your Mercies, O My God”

(Yesterday morning this was our offertory, and we sang it last night at evening worship. It is a hymn of praise for the mercy and grace of God that we experience from the womb forward to eternity. This was our Tuesday hymn back in 2010 and I just wanted to share it again.)

Joseph Addison was an early 18th century English playwright, political statesman, essayist, and writer of hymns. His play, Cato: A Tragedy, was popular among British Whigs such as John Trenchard, Thomas Gordon, and Edmund Burke, along with early Americans, George Washington and Patrick Henry. Furthermore, his hymn, When All Your Mercies, O My God, is our Tuesday Hymn for this week.

The hymn speaks of God’s shepherding care for all of His sheep during the sunshine and shadow of their lives on earth, and throughout eternity; and is a wonderful testimony to the fact that Reformed theology is more than just intellectually and doctrinally stimulating, but is also warmly experiential. It has been sung to the tune of WINCHESTER OLD, and in The Trinity Hymnal, the beautiful tune, MANOAH.

When all your mercies, O my God,
My rising soul surveys,
Transported with the view, I’m lost
In wonder, love, and praise.

Unnumbered comforts to my soul
Your tender care bestowed,
Before my infant heart conceived
From whom those comforts flowed.

When worn with sickness, oft have you
With health renewed my face;
And, when in sins and sorrows sunk,
Revived my soul with grace.

Ten thousand thousand precious gifts
My daily thanks employ;
Nor is the least a cheerful heart
That tastes those gifts with joy.

Through ev’ry period of my life
Thy goodness I’ll pursue;
And after death, in distant worlds,
The glorious theme renew.

Through all eternity to thee
A joyful song I’ll raise;
For oh, eternity’s too short
To utter all your praise.

Leave a Reply

