“And it came to pass…”

I’m tired. There. I said it.

Living in a fallen world can sometimes wear you out. I confess that life is not as stressful as when I was a pastor. Then, I not only had the ongoing stresses of challenges at home, but, also, as Paul called it, “the daily pressure on me of my anxiety for all the churches.” (2 Cor. 11:28) So, from that standpoint, retirement has made my life bearable, but there are times when the phrase, “and while they were yet speaking” from the book of Job seems like one of those “lifetime Scripture verses” that some people talk about.

However, having said all of that, it is also important for me to say, in the midst of my “tiredness” (is that a word?) I fully confess that God is in control. He knows what He is doing, and He has purpose in every pressure that He has wisely and graciously allowed into my life. While I should never be satisfied with where I am (I should be “pressing toward the mark of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus”), I should be content that God has me right where He wants me (Thanks, Jason Pickard, for starting that Sunday night study on contentment).

Thirty-five years ago, in my first pastorate, I remember Dr. A. J. Quinn saying that his favorite Scripture verse was “And it came to pass,” because he was so glad that it didn’t “come to stay.” So, if you are like me, (tired) I would encourage you to take heed to Paul’s direction to the Galatian church, “ And let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we shall reap if we do not grow wearytired1.” (Galatians 6:9)

Leave a Reply

