Don’t Fear the Reaper, Christian!

Well, it happened again: Another friend that I graduated with from high school died this week. Of course, when one reaches the age of 60 it should be expected, but it seems as if our class has had more than its share of tragedy lately.

While there are those whose lives are so filled with pain that death is looked upon as an escape, actually, death is not a friend; it is an enemy. Apart from Adam’s sin, death would not even be a part of this world; but since that day in the garden it has filled our lives with tears, loss, and heart break. It is something to be hated and despised.

However, for the Christian, it is the last enemy that we will ever face. As Paul wrote in 1 Corinthians, Christ must “reign until He has put all His enemies under His feet,” and “the last enemy to be destroyed is death.” (15:25-26) As a matter of fact, that victory will be so complete that the Psalmist was inspired to write, “Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of His saints.

Our hope is to be found in Christ’s promise that He made to Martha by the graveside of Lazarus, “I am the resurrection and the life. Whoever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live, and everyone who lives and believes in me shall never die.”

So my plans are to live every day that the Lord gives me as full as I possibly can for His glory, and when my appointment with death comes, whether it be sooner or later, I will know that my only comfort in life and death is “that I with body and soul, both in life and death, am not my own, but belong unto my faithful Saviour Jesus Christ; who, with his precious blood, has fully satisfied for all my sins, and delivered me from all the power of the devil; and so preserves me that without the will of my heavenly Father, not a hair can fall from my head; yea, that all things must be subservient to my salvation, and therefore, by his Holy Spirit, He also assures me of eternal life, and makes me sincerely willing and ready, henceforth, to live unto him.” (Heidelberg Catechism)

Leave a Reply

