In Christ We find Strength for Today and Hope for Tomorrow

Living in a fallen world has its challenges. Automobiles break down. People get too much rain. People get too little rain. People get sick. People die. We are told in the Book of Romans that “For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies.” (Romans 8:22-23) Until Christ returns and ushers in the new heavens and the new earth we will have to deal with the afflictions that accompany our fallen humanity. However, even in the midst of this trouble, we are comforted by the fact that God has a purpose in everything that we experience, and will use it for our eternal good and for His eternal glory.

Thus, Dixie and I find ourselves looking at a residential facility for our son who suffers with autism and a mental illness called schizoaffective disorder (Bi-polar type). The last couple of years have been very difficult, yet, we have seen the evidence of God’s grace at work in the midst of it all. We believe we have found a facility with a Christian underpinning, which provides the dignity of work and independence, along with the care that an adult with special needs requires. There are still a few hurdles that must be cleared, but we may be nearing that first checkpoint in this marathon of his life.

We are grateful for all that have prayed for us in the past, and ask that those prayers continue as we forge ahead into the future. We rest in the grace of God and heartily concur with the thoughts that Samuel Rodigast penned so many years ago:

Whate’er my God ordains is right,
Holy His will abideth.
I will be still whate’er He does,
And follow where He guideth.
He is my God,
Though dark my road.
He holds me that I shall not fall
Wherefore to Him I leave it all.

Whate’er my God ordains is right,
He never will deceive me
He leads me by the proper path,
I know He will not leave me
I take, content,
What He hath sent
His hand can turn my griefs away
And patiently I wait His day.

Whate’er my God ordains is right,
Though now this cup in drinking
May bitter seem to my faint heart,
I take it all unshrinking
My God is true,
Each morn anew.
Sweet comfort yet shall fill my heart
And pain and sorrow shall depart

Whate’er my God ordains is right,
Here shall my stand be taken
Though sorrow, need, or death be mine,
Yet I am not forsaken
My Father’s care
Is round me there
He holds me that I shall not fall
And so to Him I leave it all.

Leave a Reply

