The Rankin Report (Up to the minute news about the Rankin family)

I have not posted on this blog since June 14 because our lives have become quite complicated, but things have begun to settle down a bit so I thought I would give a short report on how things are faring with the Rankin Clan. After spending the last 11 years home schooling our two children (albeit the last two connected to a job skills center), we, after much prayer, and with some trepidation, decided to place both of our boys in a public school. They each have special needs (see my last post) and we felt the structure would be a positive thing for both of them, but especially for our oldest. Our local Christian schools are not able to take on the particular issues that special need’s kids have, so we felt that this was our only option.

I must say, after two weeks, things seem to be going very well. There have been a few hiccups along the way, but all in all, the boys seem to be adjusting to the world of changing classes, and learning to adapt to people who are different (my youngest was surprised at how disrespectful of his teachers some of the kids were…although it is much easier to see disrespect in others than it is in yourself). Dixie is even beginning to relax a little, although her “MOM ALARM METER” is very sensitive when it comes to her kids. The teachers, counselors, nurses (our youngest is somewhat of a hypochondriac) and principals have been very helpful and gracious as we have adjusted to this new adventure, and I have nothing but praise for their dedication.

Most of all, we have been reminded once again of our Savior’s promise to “never leave us nor forsake us” even to “the end of the age.” Samuel Rodigast’s marvelous hymn, “Whate’er My God Ordains is Right,” has never been far from my mind over this last year:

Whate’er my God ordains is right,
His holy will abideth;
I will be still whate’er He doth,
And follow where He guideth.
He is my God,
Though dark my road,
He holds me that I shall not fall,
Wherefore to Him I leave it all.

Whate’er my God ordains is right,
He never will deceive me;
He leads me by the proper path,
I know He will not leave me,
And take content
What He hath sent;
His hand can turn my griefs away,
And patiently I wait His day.

Whate’er my God ordains is right,
His loving thought attends me;
No poison’d draught the cup can be
That my Physician sends me,
But medicine due
For God is true,
And on that changeless truth I build,
And all my heart with hope is fill’d.

Whate’er my God ordains is right,
Though now this cup in drinking
May bitter seem to my faint heart,
I take it all unshrinking;
Tears pass away
With dawn of day,
Sweet comfort yet shall fill my heart,
And pain and sorrow shall depart.

Whate’er my God ordains is right,
Here shall my stand be taken;
Though sorrow, need, or death be mine,
Yet am I not forsaken,
My Father’s care
Is round me there,
He holds me that I shall not fall,
And so to Him I leave it all.

Leave a Reply

