Who made Whom?

Mark Twain once said, “In the beginning God made man in His image. And man has been returning the favor ever since.” It is a dangerous thing for us to make God in our image. I, for one, do not need or want a God who is like I am. I am selfish, and I need a God who is gracious. I am a sinner, and I need a God who is righteous. I change constantly, and I need a God who is immutable. I am foolish, and I need a God who is omniscient. I am weak, and I need a God who is omnipotent. I tend to keep a record of people who have wronged me, and I need a God who will “be merciful toward [my] iniquities, and…will remember [my] sins no more.” (Heb. 8:12) My heart is “deceitful above all things and desperately wicked” and I need a God who “cannot lie.”

If we want to know what God is like, it is best to stay away from the “God, to me, is…” crowd, and stick to the description of God given to us in His Word, the Bible. The God of the Bible is a God who must be worshiped “with reverence and awe, for [He] is a consuming fire,” (Heb. 12:28-29), yet, is also a God who invites us to “draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need” through the finished work of Christ, the only Mediator between God and man.

Leave a Reply

