Kids? Really?

Last week the National Football League held its annual draft and ESPN provided news coverage in the same manner as Fox News would cover the Republican National Convention. It was interesting to me that the sports journalists time and again referred to the twenty-two years olds being drafted as “kids.” Kids? Really? When did a twenty-two year old man become a kid? As I heard someone say on the radio a few days ago, “When my dad was nineteen, he was in a prisoner of war camp.”

At the risk of sounding like the dad who lectured his children about having to walk-to-school-in-the-snow-without-shoes-uphill-both-ways; at twenty-two, I had been married for a year, and was working my way through seminary at Sears and Roebuck, and we were thinking about starting a family. I didn’t have time to be a “kid.” I am thankful that I had a Dad who was involved in life, was always there for me, yet, when the time was right, pushed me out of the nest so that I had to learn to fly on my own. Thanks, Dad, for teaching me how to be a man.

2 Comments

  1. George Hayden said,

    April 30, 2012 at 9:55 PM

    Cliff, As I recall you flew out of that nest real well! Only me and you can remember the times we had two T.V. sets in our homes. One set was used to recieve the picture. While the other T.V. set sat on top of the other to brodcast the sound.

    • cliftonr said,

      May 1, 2012 at 5:19 AM

      How true! When I was Junior (I think) in high school, Mom went out, bought an air conditioner, and had it installed while Dad was at work. He was really surprised when he got home…but he loved to sit in front of it when he would come in from working in the garden. Yep, “those were the days, my friend, we thought they’d never end…”


Leave a Reply

