Godly Contentment is Great Gain

Please don’t tell anyone that I read a “Mom’s Blog” because they (whoever “they” are) will take my “man card” away, but Amy Scott always has something significant to say (plus, she is really, really funny). This morning I came across this paragraph which every Christian should read:

We’re all reaching, trying to tweak that thing that if we could “just get right” will magically make our lives perfect, or at least….happy. When it’s late and quiet and dark, sometimes we are just thinking about how to hold our marriage together. I think about the perfect formula for happiness all the time, though I’m too theologically snooty to call it that. If I could just lose weight, if I could just control my temper, if I could just remember what I wore yesterday but forget about that thing someone said last month, if I could just be open and vulnerable to the people I love — then everything would be okay. Wouldn’t it?

We must all learn by God’s grace to live joyfully in the fallen world in which we live. Things will never be “perfect” this side of the new heavens and the new earth and we need to accept that. Our wives will never be perfect “Sarahs,” we husbands will never actually “love our wives as Christ loved the church,” our friends will sometimes misunderstand us, our fourteen year-olds will sometimes act like fourteen year-olds, and our churches will always be full of sinners in the process of being sanctified (which includes you and me). Live with it!

Oh yes, and also remember that God is at work. If my wife snaps at me (not that Dixie would ever do that) I need to remember that Jesus is Lord over that also, and is working to mold me into the image of His Son. Granted, it is not fun to be snapped at, and my feelings may not be wearing a Robert Schuller smile, but it is always good to remember that “God’s works of providence are his most holy, wise and powerful preserving and governing all his creatures, and all their actions,” (WSC #11) and that He has promised “to bring it [His good work in you] to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.” (Philippians 1:6)

While we are waiting for the arrival of the new heavens and the new earth, we need to be sure to enjoy this time between the “already” and the “not yet.” To read all of the article that I have quoted (and I would encourage you to do so if you would like to smile) go to Amy’s Humble Musings.

Remember, please don’t tell anyone that I read a “girl blog.”

Leave a Reply

