Happy Birthday to “The Rankin File” (okay, so I’m a few weeks late)

Two years ago (on February 27, 2009) I wrote the following as my first post on The Rankin File:

In a world satiated with blogs, why should I add another one? For starters, a friend has been encouraging me for a while to revive the old “Rankin File” (See, Brent, I do listen to you occasionally). Secondly, our pastor has started blogging again and nudged me tactfully to follow his example (See, Mark, I listen to you, also). Finally, if my feeble attempts to understand the glorious grace of God can be helpful to someone else, to God alone be the glory!

Since that day, there have been 258 blog posts on The Rankin File and there have been 11,848 views of this blog. I am not a computer geek, but even I know that those are very modest numbers. For example, The Justin Bieber Shrine Blog (yes, there really is a blog that bears that moniker) reports that his YouTube video has “averaged 3.38 million daily views while Lady Gaga has averaged 2.53 million.” Kanye West, on the other hand, has only averaged a paltry 271,000 daily views during the same time frame. I am sure they feel threatened by my average of 24 views a day during this calendar year. (Yeah, right.)

However, Deo Volente (Lord willing), I will keep up this modest venture, at least for the time being. I have enjoyed my trek into the Blogosphere so far, and since I am not a threat to Justin Bieber’s numbers and popularity, I need not fear hordes of middle school girls threatening to set my house afire, or picketing on the front porch of the church.

I close with this thought: Although, I do not consider myself of the same stature as John Newton, I can identify with the words written on his tombstone,

“John Newton, Clerk, once an infidel and libertine, a servant of slaves in Africa, was, by the rich mercy of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, preserved, restored, pardoned, and appointed to preach the faith he had long labored to destroy.”

May this pardoned sinner preach that same faith until the day he dies, or the day Christ returns in His glory!

1 Comment

  1. Sandra A. said,

    March 15, 2011 at 8:55 AM

    Amen, brother, may we all preach the good news through our lives and actions as well as our words ’til He returns in glory!!!
    Happy belated birthday to the renewed “Rankin File.”


Leave a Reply

