“Focus, focus, focus.”

David VanDrunen’s essay entitled “Calvin, Kuyper, And ‘Christian Culture’” in Always Reformed: Essays in Honor of W. Robert Godfrey contained this golden observation concerning John Calvin’s Institutes of the Christian Religion:

Though it is undoubtedly dangerous to draw too many conclusions from the number of pages devoted to topics in a single work, the fact that Calvin spent nineteen chapters of book four of the Institutes on the church and its ministry and one chapter on civil government should at least give us pause when considering what Calvin regarded as important when expounding the tenets of the “Christian religion.”

In a world where I fear that Christians put far too much faith in political action committees, politicians, and political parties; I, for one, agree with Calvin in terms of what really matters: Christ’s Church. Politicians come and go, nations rise and fall, legislation is passed and rescinded, but the “gates of hell shall never prevail against” the church, neither in this world or the next. Do not misunderstand what I am trying to say: I love my country; I pray for my country; and I vote in every election (local, state, and federal); but my citizenship in the kingdom of God and my calling as a pastor always trumps my love for my country.

The hope for this country (and the world at-large) is not to be found in the voting booth, but in the faithful preaching of God’s Word, applied by God’s Spirit to the hearts of men, women, boys, and girls. Christ came to redeem sinners and to build a kingdom which will consist of people from “every nation and tribe and language and people.” Pastors, I beg of you, never allow the political or cultural appeal of the left or the right entice you away from the preaching with which you “have been entrusted by the command of God our Savior.”

1 Comment

  1. Sandra A. said,

    February 25, 2011 at 4:15 PM

    Preach it, brother!


Leave a Reply

