Tuesday Hymns: “Thy Mercy, My God”

As Old School Presbyterians we are often accused of singing only old hymns because we think that old is good and new is bad. There is nothing further from the truth. We don’t love many of the old songs just because they are old, but because they are filled with truth. There are many of the old hymns which we seldom sing (especially many from the Second Great Awakening), because of the lack of Biblical truth reflected in the lyrics, or the inappropriateness of the tunes. Furthermore, we often sing newer hymns which speak of the majesty of God’s grace, and our utter dependence upon Him for our justification, sanctification, and future glorification. One example, is our Tuesday Hymn of the Week: Thy Mercy, My God . Although the tune was unfamiliar to us when we first sang it in corporate worship, the lyrics spoke loudly of man’s need, and God’s glorious provision for that need through His grace. Notice, also, the praise going forth to the Triune God in the last verse. The lyrics were written by John Stocker and the tune was composed by Sandra McCrackren in 2001.

Thy mercy my God is the theme of my song,
The joy of my heart, and the boast of my tongue.
Thy free grace alone, from the first to the last,
Hath won my affection and bound my soul fast.

Without Thy sweet mercy, I could not live here.
Sin would reduce me to utter despair,
But through Thy free goodness, my spirit’s revived
And He that first made me still keeps me alive.

Thy mercy is more than a match for my heart,
Which wonders to feel its own hardness depart.
Dissolved by Thy goodness, I fall to the ground
And weep for the praise of the mercy I’ve found.

Great Father of mercies, Thy goodness I own
In the covenant love of Thy crucified Son.
All praise to the Spirit, Whose whisper divine
Seals mercy and pardon and righteousness mine.

1 Comment

  1. Branson said,

    February 22, 2011 at 12:12 PM

    The first time I heard this hymn was when Caedmon’s Call did a cover of it. Love it!!


Leave a Reply

