“Run for the roses as fast as you can”

A few Sunday nights ago I was talking to a young man in our congregation about his upcoming wedding, he asked about the music at my wedding (well…maybe he didn’t ask, I just offered [I can be like that, you know]). I mentioned one of the songs that we had sung was a tune by Dan Fogelberg sung entitled “Longer.” He looked at me with a blank look on his face, and it dawned on me how really old I am getting.

Believe it or not, the previous paragraph segues into the topic of this blog post. This morning, as I was doing my cardio on the exercise bike, I had Dan Fogelberg going on my Ipod, and his song, “Run for the Roses,” came up. It tells a story about life describing a race horse growing up in Kentucky and his need (unless, of course, it is a filly) to “run for the roses as fast as [he] can.” In other words, take a risk and live life to its fullest. However, as I listened to the chorus, I was really thankful that I did not share his worldview:

And it’s run for the roses
As fast as you can
Your fate is delivered
Your moment’s at hand
It’s the chance of a lifetime
In a lifetime of chance
And it’s high time you joined
In the dance
It’s high time you joined
In the dance

While I agree that it is “high time [I] joined in the dance,” I am so grateful that the Bible teaches that my fate is not delivered, and that my life does not consist of chances “of a lifetime in a lifetime of chance.” It gives me great comfort to know that my God is not wringing His hands in heaven wondering what is going to happen in the future (as an open theist might surmise), but that He is in total control of all of life. As the Fifth Chapter of the Westminster Confession of Faith states:

God the great Creator of all things does uphold, direct, dispose, and govern all creatures, actions, and things, from the greatest even to the least, by His most wise and holy providence, according to His infallible foreknowledge, and the free and immutable counsel of His own will, to the praise of the glory of His wisdom, power, justice, goodness, and mercy.

The events that come into my life, whether humanly perceived as good or bad, all come from the hand of a Sovereign Lord who is working out His eternal purpose in my life for my eternal good. He is causing “all things to work together for good to those who love [Him] and to those who are called according to His purpose,” (Rom. 8:28) and because of that sustaining truth, I can “run for the roses as fast as I can,” because I am fulfilling my purpose in this fallen world for His glory.

1 Comment

  1. Sandra A. said,

    February 14, 2011 at 9:48 AM

    I had several days of blogs to read and I certainly enjoyed and was encouraged by each of them. I had a good time singing Bonar’s song as part of my worship this morning and now am reassured of my faith, my Savior, my comfort and my hope. I needed these comments. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

