The God of All Comfort

It has been over a month since I posted on this blog so it is time for me to get back in the swing of things. I have been busy with church stuff and Dixie has been having some health issues. Over the last few weeks she has had two epidural steroid injections in her neck (C5 and C6), a myelogram, and last Monday a cervical laminectomy to relieve a pinched nerve. I took a week of vacation this week to be the “chief cook and bottle washer” around the house since Dixie is limited in her physical activity (including driving Reed back and forth to school since she is not allowed to drive for two weeks after her procedure). She is now on the mend although she will have lifting restrictions for a while longer.

Through all of this, I have been reminded once again that “God’s grace is sufficient” and that His “steadfast covenant love” endures forever. I have also been reminded of how precious Dixie is too me. She has been a loving wife to me for the past twenty years (has it really been that long?), and I hope and pray that the Lord by His grace will bless me with another twenty or more with her by my side.

Last of all, I have been reminded of the goodness of God’s people. It is never a pleasant thing to sit in a waiting room at a hospital while a loved one is undergoing surgery (even though the risks may be minimal), and it was a such a blessing to be aware that people were praying for us, and, afterwards, to receive the flowers, calls, food, emails, and other acts of kindness that came our way by the people of Reformed Presbyterian Church. I am especially grateful for Pastor Mark taking up my responsibilities this week on top of his own (and his constant show of concern for our welfare), and I look forward to things getting back to “normal” (if there is such a thing) in the weeks to come.

I would like to close by saying with the Apostle Paul, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” (2 Corinthians 1:3-4)

2 Comments

  1. Sandra A. said,

    December 14, 2010 at 8:59 AM

    So missed you on the blog but knew from facebook some of the issues happening in your life. Pray that Dixie will recover quickly and all will be better for the last few weeks. Miss all of you very much.

    • cliftonr said,

      December 14, 2010 at 11:06 AM

      Thanks, Sandra. I believe Dixie is on the “mend.” We continue to pray for you and Jack as you adjust to life west of the Colorado River.


Leave a Reply

