Dixie (the wife, not the song)

As King Lemuel’s mother taught him what to look for in a wife, she asked the rhetorical question, “An excellent wife who can find?” (Proverbs 31:10) There are times when I want to answer her question by saying, “I can!” The Lord has truly blessed me with an “excellent” woman in my life.

Dixie is definitely not perfect (if she was, she surely would not be able to live with me!) but she is exactly what I need. I know that she is committed to me, and to our boys, and when she vowed before God to “have and to hold from this day forward, for better or for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish; from this day forward until death do us part,” that those were not idle words. I may not know what the future holds, but I know that apart from death (hers or mine) we will face that earthly future together.

I am sure that along the way we will have our differences; our feelings, like the tide, will rise and ebb; our circumstances will sometimes bring laughter, and sometimes tears; but we both know that God has made the two, one; and “what God has joined together, let not man put asunder.” (Math. 19:6) So, Dixie, thank you for the past twenty years, and may the Lord bless us with many more in the future.

1 Comment

  1. Sandra A. said,

    July 12, 2010 at 4:33 PM

    Happy belated anniversary. It was good to see you praising your wife to all readers. You two are blessed to have each other.


Leave a Reply

