“I don’t get it.”

I will be perfectly honest with you, “I don’t get it.” The entire civilized world (although the behavior of soccer fans may give cause to question the adjective, civilized) has gone bonkers over the FIFA World Cup. I am happy for them. They can call in sick to watch it. They can blog about it. They can Facebook about it. But, I am not interested at all. Oh, I will check on line to see if the USA won, lost, or drew (or is it drawed), but I promise I will not watch one second of it. I would rather watch paint dry, or grass grow, or listen to a political speech. Nope, I will pass.

I am to soccer (or would you prefer, fútbol) what most of the world is to the things of God. They have no desire to go to worship, because to them it is boring. They don’t understand what is being preached, and they are not interested in learning about it. Not only do they not care about spiritual things, they are unable to understand spiritual things. Paul said it very succinctly in 1 Corinthians 2:14, “ 14 The natural person does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are folly to him, and he is not able to understand them because they are spiritually discerned.” Unless, God in His mercy brings to life the dead heart of the unredeemed, it will never repent and believe the Gospel, and be justified before God. There was a day when I, too, was “by nature a child of wrath,” but our gracious God “made [me] alive together with Christ.” I will be forever grateful for His grace, because He took a corpse, and brought it to life.

May the Lord enable the spiritually dead to “hear the voice of the Son of God,” for “those who hear will live, for as the Father has life in Himself, so He has granted the Son also to have life in Himself.” (John 5:25-26)

2 Comments

  1. June 12, 2010 at 1:47 PM

    Clifton, I believe that within 15 years High School Football will play second fiddle to High School Soccer. Just the other day I visted with a high school A.D. that was needing to light up a soccer practice field. Seems like the new kids in their school prefer soccer.

  2. cliftonr said,

    June 15, 2010 at 8:58 AM

    George, I would have agreed with you 30 years ago when I was in seminary in Ft. Worth, and saw the soccer fields crawling with kids, but soccer never caught on at the spectator level in the U. S. I am guessing that soccer is like baseball: it moves slowly and requires patience, a trait that is absent in most American’s psyches.


Leave a Reply

