“Misfortune Nobly Borne is Good Fortune.”

I know that many who read these words are unhappy with the result of the health care deliberations in Washington, D. C., and, to be perfectly honest with you, so am I. However, the imprudence of others should never dictate the tenor of our lives. If Paul could write, “Let every person be subject to the governing authorities” (Romans 13:1) while Nero was the Emperor of Rome, then who am I to disparage those that God has placed in authority over me. I can disagree passionately with the decisions of the President and Congress, yet, still respect the offices that they hold, for “Respect is given, trust is earned.”

Granted, I believe our nation’s fiscal irresponsibility will be its undoing, and I have the privilege of working, if I so choose, to elect others to office to change that course of action; but, until then, I need to live by the principle that Robert E. Lee shared with E. V. Valentine, the sculptor who was chosen to make a bust of him, “Misfortune nobly borne is good fortune.” What matters most are not the circumstances in which we live, but the way we live in our circumstances. So whatever transpires, by God’s grace, live according to the third membership vow that one takes when one becomes a member of a PCA (Presbyterian Church in America) church, “I now resolve and promise, in humble reliance upon the grace of the Holy Spirit, that I will endeavor to live as becomes a follower of Christ.

Leave a Reply

