Mid-life Crisis?

A man was at a party and jokingly said that he was going through a “mid-life crisis” and his wife quickly retorted, “Mid-life crisis! Who do you know that lived to be 110?” I now relate to that old story since yesterday I turned fifty-five (for those of you who went to public school as I, that’s one-half of 110).

I realize that statistically speaking I will never become a centenarian (unless the Lord should will it) so I have come to grips with the fact that my life on earth is more than half over. I am not complaining, for if I have learned anything in my fifty-five years on earth, it is that every day that I live is a gracious gift from God.

The challenge is to learn to appreciate every day that one has been given and live it to the glory of God. And, not only live it to the glory of God by desiring to do all that God has commanded in His Word, but to take the time to enjoy Him as you do so. May give us all the grace to live to glorify Him and enjoy Him forever.

4 Comments

  1. Barry M. said,

    October 29, 2009 at 5:33 AM

    I wholeheartedly concur! We should also thank the Lord for everyday that He awakens us breathe another day because it is only by His grace that we do so.

  2. Renee said,

    October 29, 2009 at 7:55 AM

    HAPPY LATE BIRTHDAY!!!
    Love,
    Lauren

  3. Renee said,

    October 29, 2009 at 8:08 AM

    So sorry I forgot your birthday! I meant to send a b-day card. Just wanted to let you know our family has been blessed having you as a pastor and friend for almost 9yrs. now. Happy Birthday Clifton!
    Renee

    • cliftonr said,

      October 29, 2009 at 9:16 AM

      As we all get older we forget things. ;^)
      Thanks.


Leave a Reply

