They are Precious in His Sight

A friend of mine sent me an interesting video (Thanks, Kenneth) about two families and their experience raising children who have disabilities. It is a segment hosted by Joni Earickson Tada and can be found here. (Disclaimer: I don’t endorse all the theological beliefs of those interviewed but have great admiration for the love they show to their children.)

As I watched the video I was reminded once again that all children, even those who struggle with learning or can’t learn, bear the image of God, and should be allowed to experience life as fully as possible. They may struggle with language, or may need someone to care for them to some degree for the rest of their lives, but they are precious in God’s sight and are able to love and be loved, to experience joy and sadness, and to relate to all those that God has placed around them. God has a loving, holy, and eternal purpose for allowing the struggles that they (and the ones who care for them) face which we may never come to understand on this side of the new heavens and the new earth, but He is God, and we are not.

As the father of a son with autism spectrum disorder, the watching of this video reminded me of two very important truths: what a blessing my son is to me, and how caring my wife is. While I struggle with my son’s learning issues, and wonder about his future; I do so as I go about my daily duties; studying, visiting the hospital, preparing for my Lord’s Day responsibilities, and providing for my family. My wife, on the other hand, is battling his issues face to face with him at home. Thank you, Dixie, for all of the things that you have given up in order to teach him at home. I know that it has not been easy teaching him history, math, and other various school subjects, but you have taught him what matters most: that he is loved by his family, his church, his friends, and, most of all, by his Creator and Redeemer. You have learned well the lesson of Romans 8:35-39:

35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? 36 Just as it is written, “For Thy sake we are being put to death all day long; We were considered as sheep to be slaughtered.” 37 But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

2 Comments

  1. cliftonr said,

    October 15, 2009 at 1:31 PM

    Wife here: I did not read this before I “shared” it to my post for the day on facebook. Well, thank you for appreciating me and loving all of us the way you do. Thanks for sharing this video. I am so thankful that you are my husband and dad to our sons! We are having another good day today by the way, all things considered! …Dixie

  2. Sandra A. said,

    October 16, 2009 at 7:32 AM

    How special to honor your wife in this matter. You are a good husband to “praise your wife at the city gates.”


Leave a Reply

