Tuesday Hymns: “Whate’er My God Ordains is Right”

Samuel Rodigast (1649-1708), was a German Lutheran minister and the conrector (vice principal) of the Greyfriars Gymnasium in Berlin. In 1675 he wrote the hymn, Whate’er My God Ordains is Right , to encourage a friend of his named Gastorius, who had become seriously ill. The hymn reminds us that God is sovereign, that He always does what is best for us (despite the fact that it may be painful), and that He is always faithful to “those who are called according to His purpose.” It is usually sung to the tune WAS GOTT TUT which has been traditionally attributed to Severus Gastorius himself.

I will never forget singing this hymn with the small group that had gathered under the breezeway at Reformed Presbyterian Church after Hurricane Rita in 2005. We met outside because there was still no power in Beaumont, and I testify that this hymn will always be special to me, not just for the message of God’s sovereignty and grace, but also the encouragement it brought to my heart on that Lord’s Day.

Whate’er my God ordains is right: His holy will abideth; I will be still whate’er He doth, and follow where He guideth. He is my God; though dark my road, He holds me that I shall not fall: wherefore to Him I leave it all.

Whate’er my God ordains is right: He never will deceive me; He leads me by the proper path; I know He will not leave me. I take, content, what He hath sent; His hand can turn my griefs away, and patiently I wait His day.

Whate’er my God ordains is right: though now this cup, in drinking, may bitter seem to my faint heart, I take it, all unshrinking. My God is true; each morn anew sweet comfort yet shall fill my heart, and pain and sorrow shall depart.

Whate’er my God ordains is right: here shall my stand be taken; though sorrow, need, or death be mine, yet am I not forsaken. My Father’s care is round me there; He holds me that I shall not fall: and so to Him I leave it all.

5 Comments

  1. Ellis Hayden said,

    October 13, 2009 at 1:21 PM

    Amen…it must have been really special that Lord’s Day.

    • cliftonr said,

      October 13, 2009 at 3:11 PM

      It was really encouraging to be with God’s people if even for just a little while…I think the MRE’s even tasted better when we got home.

  2. cliftonr said,

    October 13, 2009 at 2:31 PM

    Wife speaking here. It is neat how you can click on WAS GOTT TUT and listen to the music while you read the him or sing it. How did you do that?

    • cliftonr said,

      October 13, 2009 at 3:08 PM

      You just have to know the correct HTML commands. Thanks to Pastor Mark, I now know them. ;^)
      …Although I can’t get WordPress to let me center the hymn even though I am using the normal html command to do that…so I am definately not a whiz-kid on the computer.

  3. cliftonr said,

    October 13, 2009 at 2:33 PM

    Wife again..I meant Hymn not him.


Leave a Reply

