Tuesday Hymns: “By Grace I Am an Heir of Heaven”

Although I am a day late publishing my Tuesday Hymn, I did want to take the time to post this great hymn by German composer, Christian L. Scheidt (1709-1761) entitled, By Grace I Am an Heir of Heaven. I have found very little information about him anywhere, but two of his hymns are in the Trinity Hymnal; the one I just mentioned and another song about God’s grace, By Grace I’m Saved, Grace Free and Boundless. Although many (actually, most) Christians would not recognize Scheidt’s name, he is still being used 250 years after his death to be a vessel in God’s sanctification of His people. The hymn is normally sung to the tune Neumark.

By grace I am an heir of heaven: why doubt this, O my trembling heart? If what the Scriptures promise clearly is true and firm in ev’ry part, this also must be truth divine: by grace a crown of life is mine.

By grace alone shall I inherit that blissful home beyond the skies. Works count for naught, the Lord incarnate has won for me the heav’nly prize. Salvation by His death He wrought, His grace alone my pardon bought.

By grace! These precious words remember when sorely by your sins oppressed, when Satan comes to vex your spirit, when trouble conscience sighs for rest; what reason cannot comprehend, God does to you by grace extend.

By grace! Be this in death my comfort; despite my fears, ’tis well with me. I know my sin in all its greatness, but also Him who sets me free. My heart to naught but joy gives place since I am saved by grace, by grace.

Leave a Reply

