Tuesday Hymns: “Thy Works, Not Mine, O Christ”

Last week’s Tuesday Hymns discussed Horatius Bonar and his hymn, Not What My Hands Have Done. This week’s hymn is another hymn by Bonar that was brought to my feeble mind by Pastor Mark’s comment concerning what we sang two Sundays ago (Look at comments under last week’s Tuesday Hymns to discover the “rest of the story”). Enjoy this marvelous portrayal of God’s grace to His people. 

Thy works, not mine, O Christ, Speak gladness to this heart; They tell me all is done; They bid my fear depart.

To whom, save Thee, who canst alone for sin atone, Lord, shall I flee?

Thy pains, not mine, O Christ, upon the shameful tree, have paid the law’s full price and purchased peace for me.

To whom, save Thee, who canst alone for sin atone, Lord, shall I flee?

Thy cross, not mine, O Christ, has borne the awful load of sins that none in heav’n or earth could bear but God.

To whom, save Thee, who canst alone for sin atone, Lord, shall I flee?

Thy righteousness, O Christ, alone can cover me: No righteousness avails save that which is of Thee.

To whom save Thee, who canst alone for sin atone, Lord, shall I flee?

Leave a Reply

