Working and Resting

I was always a fighter. Work hard, don’t give up, keep at it, and good things will come to you. This kind of thinking is sometimes good for a pastor to have. When people are going through difficult times, I am there to remind them to “press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus,” and “take up your cross and follow Christ.” These are important words. We are to press forward and be willing to die for our Lord who gave His all on our behalf.

 

However, there is a time to remind people that the most important thing they can do is not work, but rest. We can never do enough. We can never read the Bible enough, or pray enough, or love enough, or ________________ enough (You fill in the blank). There is a time, when as a pastor, I need to encourage people not to do more, but to rest in Christ and all that He has done. The Book of Titus reminds us where our real hope is to be found:

 

Titus 3:4-7   4 But when the goodness and loving kindness of God our Savior appeared,  5 he saved us, not because of works done by us in righteousness, but according to his own mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewal of the Holy Spirit,  6 whom he poured out on us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior,  7 so that being justified by his grace we might become heirs according to the hope of eternal life.

 

Live your life resting in His grace, always remembering this glorious truth: “for from Him and through Him and to Him are all things. To Him be glory forever. Amen.

4 Comments

  1. April 6, 2009 at 1:16 PM

    I fall into this trap a lot. The “pull yourself up by your own bootstraps” mentality, while it is the American dream, is contrary to what the Gospel teaches. And on the rare occasions that I feel that I am living up to God’s standard completely, I am forced to remember “Let the one who thinks he is standing be careful that he does not fall” (1 Cor 10:22), because I usually fall. It’s so relieving to know that God’s grace is not dependent on our efforts.

  2. cliftonr said,

    April 6, 2009 at 3:26 PM

    “And on rare occasions that I feel that I am living up to what the Gospel teaches”…really, what does that feel like? :^)

    • April 7, 2009 at 2:39 PM

      haha I really couldn’t tell you. Every time I think I’m at that point, I find out that I am truly far from it.

    • April 7, 2009 at 3:45 PM

      haha I couldn’t tell you. Every time I think I’m there, I find out how far from it I truly am.


Leave a Reply

