Friends

Last night at our men’s bible study we took some time to look at a few of the different relationships described in the book of Proverbs. We saw how important it is to choose friends with good character because, “He that walks with wise men shall be wise: but a companion of fools shall be destroyed.” (Proverbs 13:20) We also talked about the difficulty of knowing when one should overlook an offense with a friend (“He who covers a transgression seeks love” Proverbs 17:9) and when one should confront (“Faithful are the wounds of a friend; profuse are the kisses of an enemy.” Proverbs 27:6). I hope that in our study we began to understand more fully the importance of the Christian friends that God puts in our lives.

 

Over the last few days I have come face to face with the importance of friends as I became a member of the Facebook family. For those of you who are not computer geeks, Facebook is a “social utility that connects people with friends and others who work, study and live around them” or formerly worked, studied, and lived around them. Suddenly I came across friends on the internet that I have not seen in years (some I haven’t seen in 25 years). As I reconnected with some of these folks I began to remember the impact that they have had on my life. God used these men, women, and children as instruments in my growth in grace. Although my theological views have grown even more conservative (and, I pray, more Biblical) through the years, I remember these folks as people with whom I laughed, cried, prayed, and studied the Bible. I will be forever grateful for the love that they showed to me in Christ as we journeyed together on the path called life.

 

I am reminded, also, of those that God is using today in my sanctification. In the last four years I have treasured Pastor Mark’s consistent preaching of God’s Law and Gospel, and how God has used it in both my spiritual growth, and in the spiritual growth of my family. I have also enjoyed immensely serving with the men on the session of RPC as we seek to “shepherd the flock of God…, exercising oversight, not under compulsion, but willingly, as God would have [us]; not for shameful gain, but eagerly.” Furthermore, the saints of God that make up Reformed Presbyterian Church encourage me daily to look to Christ alone “to find mercy and grace to help in time of need.” Finally, Dixie and the boys are a constant reminder to me of how gracious that God has been to me, and are a constant source of joy as I live out my life in this present age, and look forward to that glorious age to come.

Leave a Reply

